I Have Not Expected Overtime or Been Nasty to People Working Service Gigs

I have not done falsehood against men, I have not impoverished my associates, I have done no wrong in the Place Of Truth, I have not learnt about that which is not, I have done no evil, I have not daily made labor in excess of what was due to be done for me, my name has not reached the offices of those who control slaves, I have not deprived the orphan of his property, I have not done what the gods detest, I have not calumniated a servant to his master, I have not caused pain, I have not made hungry, I have not made to weep, I have not killed, I have not commanded to kill, ….

From the introduction to Spell 125, the Declaration of Innocence, from the version presented in Ancient Egyptian Book of the Dead, translated by Raymond O. Faulkner with an introduction by James P. Allen, published by Barnes & Noble.

2 thoughts on “I Have Not Expected Overtime or Been Nasty to People Working Service Gigs

  1. henadology says:

    It’s worth noting that the original Greek sense of hubris, unlike it’s modern sense, almost always involved a powerful person’s abuse of those over whom he had power.

  2. Sereia Verde says:

    Reblogged this on Into The Mist / No Nevoeiro and commented:
    I was always honest at work… :)

Leave a Reply

