I love it when a plan comes together

So my last post led to an astronomer friend calculating the relevant appulse for me, which is doing wonders for my calendar revs. And I started poking around at the structural underpinnings of things as a result, and came up with something I could have come up with years ago if I’d been paying attention from the right angle.

Specifically, that if I assume the appulse of Sirius and the sun falls at the midpoint of the period of invisibility, it would be interesting to see what festivals fall around the start of it.

There is one. Which I faithfully recorded in my calendar spreadsheet when I pulled it out of the El-Sabban book, timed for the start of the disappearance of Sopdet. In my notes it is, from the Esna calendar, “Feast of the beginning of the year, revealing of the face, like 2 Peret 8”.

Me, when taking notes into the spreadsheet: “WTF is a feast of the beginning of the year doing in 2 Shomu?!” All of the other festival notes on this date refer to Nit (as to the 2 Peret 8 ones), so that’s a thing to track down.

Also? If I look up the date of the conjunction, the point when Sirius/Sopdet and the sun are closest?

That’s Aset Luminous.

5 thoughts on “I love it when a plan comes together

  1. jewelofaset says:

    My brain exploded. Aset had me write an Oracle for Aset Luminous one year. The Name for Herself She kept referring to? Fiercely Bright One. Her star and the sun. Yeah. Also right before Aset Luminous there are two other flame/stellar festivals: Burning the Widow’s Flame and Appearance of Sopdet. I’ve called it my Aset Week in my head before, but now I’m trying to get the week as Bright Week for a weeklong celebration of Aset as the HoN did for Set in Red Week (Set Kills the Rebel Festival; Jan 11-17 this year).

    • kiya_nicoll says:

      I thought you might find that to be FULL OF AWESOME. Because isn’t it? Full of awesome? I am made of such “OH WOW.”

      And that’s just from, y’know, counting 35 days back from Wep Renpet, I could have done that years ago. (For the 70-day disappearance that’s recorded mythologically.) How did I not think of doing that before?

  2. jewelofaset says:

    Oh, also. I have no idea if this is helpful or not. But there are two myths about Aset for Her Birthday. One is the normal one 4th Day is Birth of Aset. But there is another one where She is born as Sopdet on the New Year (and also on the Night of the 5th Epagonemal Day). So New Year is also Aset’s Birthday. Also Her Birthday name “Night of the Child in His Nest” refers to Ra or Heru as falcons who are born at Sunrise on New Years. There is one calendar where Aset’s Birthday celebration is 4th Epag Day to New Year’s.

    Also, this book is awesome. And a source for many later festivals too: Perpillou-Thomas, Francoise. Fêtes d’Egypte ptolémaïque et romaine, d’après la documentation papyrologique grecque. (Studia Hellenistica Series 31). Peeters Publishers, 1993.

  3. jewelofaset says:

    Also, thank you and your friend for this. This has really helped.

  4. […] The post is here: I Love it when a plan comes together […]

Leave a Reply

