Ascend and Descend

I stumbled across an old livejournal post written by my first Craft teacher, which said, among other things, not to believe a thing until one has incorporated it into one’s practice. Until it is lived.

I read old texts.

It’s a hazard of the profession.

I read old texts, and I can talk to you about the nature of two-ness, of the way three-ness emerges of inevitability from pairs of things, and what that means about three-ness and one-ness and many-ness.

I read old texts, and I can talk to you about animal symbolism and common threads that appear in varieties of different cultures.

I read old texts, and I can talk to you about the terrestrial and celestial.

I read old texts, and you can too.

That is not the challenge.

Here is the challenge:

If I die, my double will have power, for I am the third of those two gods who ascend to the sky as a pair of falcons, and I ascend on their wings; who descend to the earth as a pair of serpents, and I descend on their coils […].

Pyramid Text 491, trans. R. O. Faulkner.

I am the third of those two gods.

Go, and do likewise.

Leave a Reply

